Home > games, Monsters, writing > The Truth about Fimir

The Truth about Fimir


index
Over the years I’ve been asked many times, “What happened to the Fimir?” A lot of people seem to like this strange race, and there seems to be a lot of curiosity about why they were quietly dropped from Warhammer canon.

I’ve been thinking for some time about writing a post that gives the whole story of the Fimir’s creation, short life, and eventual demise – but now I don’t have to. Warhammer fan Luke Maciak, author of the excellent Terminally Incoherent blog, has painstakingly collected all the information from various sources and assembled it into a full and complete account of the beasts, and added some great insights of his own.

The Fimir reappear from time to time, both in GW publications (fleetingly) and in fan works (often in great depth). Here are a few useful links I found:

A scan of the Fimir promo from WD102, including an adventure that I still regard as one of the worst I’ve ever written, “There’s a One-Eyed Fellow Hiding to the North of Kammendun.” Oldhammer fans will also find a 3rd edition Fimir army list.

There was an unofficial 8th edition Warhammer army book for Fimir created by some German fans (and written, impressively, in English), but the link has gone dead. However, you can find it easily enough by Googling “Warhammer Fimir army book.”

My earlier post on Forge World’s announcement of their Fimir miniatures.

David Stafford’s impressive Fimir army, with inspiration from 2000AD’s Slaine comic and broader Irish mythology.

Warpstone magazine devoted issue 25 to a Fimir special.

I’m sure this list just scratches the surface of what’s out there. If I happen upon anything else interesting, I’ll post links in the comments section below.

  1. Paul Murphy
    April 9, 2014 at 11:08 am

    You failed to link to my Fimir erotic fanfic, I see. Typical stuck-up Canadian or whatevs.

  2. April 19, 2014 at 8:41 am
  3. May 20, 2014 at 5:54 am

    Hi Graeme, I unearthed an old paperback of “Irish Folktales” in the hope of finding the original Alan Lee Formorian which went on to inform the design of the Fimm. TA casts some doubt over whether it was actually this image or not, I’d love to hear our thoughts. http://realmofzhu.blogspot.co.uk/2014/05/origin-of-fimir-iii-alan-lees-formorian.html

  4. May 20, 2014 at 6:59 am

    Yep, that’s the one.

  5. March 27, 2015 at 8:41 am

    There’s also a Facebook group for Fimir fans: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1513847692178866/

  6. Dreadaxe
    May 2, 2022 at 6:01 am

    “An unofficial 8th edition Warhammer army book for Fimir created by some German fans (and written, impressively, in English).”

    dead link

    • May 2, 2022 at 10:32 am

      Thanks for the heads-up. I have taken the link down.

      • Fantasy Builder
        January 25, 2024 at 1:46 pm

        Do you still have the link? Sorry for pestering, I’m curious if it was checked against archive.org

  7. January 25, 2024 at 2:15 pm

    Google “Warhammer Fimir army book” and you’ll find at least one version.
    I won’t replace the link in case it goes dead again.

  1. June 23, 2014 at 2:44 pm
  2. February 27, 2016 at 4:58 pm
  3. December 7, 2016 at 1:44 pm

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.