Home > games, writing > HeroQuest 25th Anniversary Edition

HeroQuest 25th Anniversary Edition



One of the first posts I wrote for this blog was a reminiscence on the early days of Vampire: the Masquerade, prompted by the release of a 20th Anniversary Edition. Well, now I feel even older. I just saw that someone is bringing back the Games Workshop – Milton Bradley fantasy boardgame HeroQuest in time for its 25th.

Jervis Johnson – he of Blood Bowl and Adeptus Titanicus/Space Marine fame – was the designer, but I sat in with him on meetings and contributed some early writing and background. I remember that the man from MB liked the fact that I’d named the Barbarian character Rogar, because his boss was named Roger and he thought that would go down especially well.

As part of the agreement, Milton Bradley developed all the HeroQuest expansions themselves but Games Workshop had the right to develop and sell Advanced HeroQuest, which was a lot deeper and more Warhammer-ish. It’s also where the Fimir found a home after failing as a new Warhammer race. I had a little more to do with AHQ, writing a few expansion articles for White Dwarf and – one of my first freelance contracts after I left the Games Workshop staff in 1990 – an undead-themed supplement called Terror in the Dark.

I’ll be keeping an eye on this new incarnation of HeroQuest. Who knows – maybe I’ll even get the opportunity to write something for it.

  1. crimsonsun
    November 22, 2013 at 6:46 am

    I am also watching with great interest on this one as this game was my first introduction to TT gaming, from there I discovered wargames and RPG’s and I have been hooked ever since…

    Out of interest as I am considering backing the kickstarter which starts at 17:00gmt today (Nov 22.2013) do you know much about the IP ownership and if we should be concerned regarding GW causing the campaign difficulties either during or more worryingly after the campaign has finished (thus costing the backers any pledges). Obviously Gamer Zone have posted that they can produce this game legally but the whole thing sounds very balanced on thin ice and with GW”s recent history of lawsuits I guess any insider knowledge or info you can recall will be great!

    Finally I have never posted here before mainly because I forgot you have this blog but I wanted to say you are a true inspiration and I am a massive fan of your work especially with WFRP (all editions) and that the background you helped develop, filling in the gritty details is why I will never leave gaming in the RPG setting as its so rich…

    crimsonsun

    • November 22, 2013 at 8:46 am

      Hi, and thanks for the kind words!

      I honestly don’t know where things stand with HeroQuest IP-wise. I am pretty sure that Milton Bradley (part of Hasbro since 1984) owns HeroQuest while GW owns AHQ. Although GW helped develop the original HQ game, it had no role in developing any of the expansions, and when I was working on AHQ and its supplements for GW there was never any question of having to get agreement or approval from MB.

      I have seen some comments on Facebook which imply that MB and/or GW somehow forgot to establish copyright for HQ in Spain, which is why this version is being developed there. I have no idea whether that’s true, or even possible – although I know copyright laws vary from country to country and I know nothing about Spanish law, I know that most countries recognize some kind of copyright in a created work even if the author/publisher takes no steps to secure copyright legally.

      Also, I don’t know anything about the people who are planning this version of the game, and whether they have agreements in place with MB. If they don’t, then I’d say they are taking a big risk, but as I say, I don’t have enough information to know fur sure.

      • crimsonsun
        November 22, 2013 at 8:54 am

        The praise is truly heart felt so no worries, and thank you for replying regarding the Kickstarter. I doubted you would know the current status but there is no harm in asking. I really hope they are in the clear as that game brings me so many memories but I will be cautious regardless.

        Thanks Crimsonsun

  2. Louise2783
    November 28, 2013 at 2:24 pm

    Less than a week later and it all grinds to a halt. Message on Kickstarter page:-

    “Heroquest 25th Anniversary is the subject of an intellectual property dispute and is currently unavailable.

    No need to check the servers — the rest of Kickstarter is doing just fine.

    This project’s funding and the countdown to its deadline have been stopped. If the project becomes available again, the countdown will continue and the deadline will extend past the original deadline for as much time as the project was unavailable.

    Your pledge is currently still active. If you’d like, you can manage your pledge at any time before the deadline. If you have a question, you can ask the project creator.

    Thanks for your patience.”

    • RogerBW
      November 28, 2013 at 3:58 pm

      Darn. Can’t say I’m surprised, but there’s nothing like the sniff of free money to bring the IP lawyers out of their holes.

  3. Tryvor
    December 24, 2013 at 9:37 am

    Over at http://www.lanzanos.com/proyectos/heroquest-25-aniversario/necesidades/ you’ll find Heroquest 25th is fully funded and working it’s way up the Stretch Goals. You’ll probably want to get in on this now.
    Legal stuff seems to have been worked out.

  4. December 27, 2013 at 10:48 am

    The story seems to be getting more and more tangled. Check this out: http://pinsofwar.com/heroquest-3rd-time-lucky/

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

