Home > games, WFRP, writing > WFRP Memories: A Rough Night at the Three Feathers

WFRP Memories: A Rough Night at the Three Feathers


 

Orlygg at the Realm of Chaos 80s blog has just posted a very nice piece about “A Rough Night at the Three Feathers,” which I wrote back in 1987. I wrote it largely as an experiment, to see whether multi-plot adventures could even work: people liked it, and it has gone on to be one of the most-reprinted pieces written for WFRP. After its original publication in White Dwarf 94, it appeared in The Restless Dead, Apocrypha Now, and – with Second Edition stats – in Plundered Vaults.

I’ve returned to the same format twice for WFRP, and once for d20. “Nastassia’s Wedding” appeared in Pyramid #19 in 1996, with stats for GURPS Fantasy was well as WFRP, and the Third Edition adventure The Edge of Night included a society party where Skaven were just one of many problems. “The Last Resort” in Green Ronin’s Tales of Freeport returns to an inn location, on a night beset with mummies, assassins, loan sharks, serpent cultists, and more.

In 1987, though, all this was in the future. My initial impetus for writing “Three Feathers” was the popularity (at the time) of bar-room brawl scenarios. White Dwarf 11 started it off with “A Bar-Room Brawl – D&D Style” by Lew Pulsipher, which was reprinted in The Best of White Dwarf Scenarios. Others followed – including “Rumble at the Tin Inn” for RuneQuest – and when WFRP was published in 1986, we knew it would need some adventures and articles in White Dwarf to support it (more on that here). One possibility was a bar-room brawl scenario – they were simple in structure and should be fairly quick to write, which was just what was needed since there was no official budget and schedule for producing WFRP support material during work hours.

I set to work, coming up with the Three Feathers inn (though in my mind, the feathers were bunched together on the inn sign, like the three ostrich plumes of the Prince of Wales’ insignia) and a diverse cast of characters, each with a reason for being there and some cross-plots that would bring them into conflict with others. But, as I always do, I had way too much fun developing the characters and plots, and the concept grew beyond the needs of a simple bar-room brawl scenario. First, I thought I would pick one plot, develop it, and file the rest away for future use – but then I had an idea: why  not use all of them at once?

In my mind, the Three Feathers’ inn sign looked a little more like this – but without the crown.

As far as I knew (and still know) it had never been done in roleplaying games before, but there were strong precedents in other media. On stage, colliding plots have been an element of farces since Roman times. One commentator described “Three Feathers” as “a classic British hotel farce,” and anyone old enough to remember the names Ben Travers and Brian Rix will know exactly what he means. I wanted to capture the manic action of farces like Fawlty Towers, A Funny Thing Happened on the way to the Forum, and so on, blending it with the sneaking action of caper comedies like The Pink Panther.

I had to think quite hard about how to present the adventure. There was no way to know what might happen with all these plots taking place at once, especially when a group of PCs got involved. So I simply described the location and the NPCs, outlined each plot, and compiled a timeline of what should happen if the PCs weren’t there. A few words of encouragement for the GM (which can be summarized in Douglas Adams’ timeless words, “Don’t Panic!”) and off it went to White Dwarf.

Honestly, I had no idea whether it would work or not. I knew that I could handle it as a GM, therefore it was theoretically workable by others, but had I set things out well enough? Would it just confuse people, or would it all come crashing down mid-game leaving players and GMs dissatisfied and angry? It was a great relief when the first positive responses began to come in.

Oh, and WFRP did get a bar-room brawl scenario of its very own, just a couple of months later. Jim Bambra and Matt Connell wrote “Mayhem at the Mermaid” for White Dwarf 96. Then the fashion for bar-room brawl scenarios faded, and as far as I know people simply stopped writing them. Today, they are a largely forgotten style of adventure: perhaps a blogger somewhere will trace the history of the form and assess its lasting contribution to RPG adventure design. I would certainly be interested to read it.

Oh, and one last piece of trivia. I got the title from a Western called A Rough Night in Jericho. I have never actually seen it, but evidently it includes a bar-room brawl scene, as I saw a still somewhere or other and the title stuck in my mind until I stole it for “Three Feathers.” Make of that what you will….

More
My Complete and Utter Warhammer Bibliography
The Restless Dead: The Forgotten WFRP Campaign

  1. October 27, 2017 at 1:35 pm

    “Ostrich plums”!?! I’m not surprised the GW art department changed it! “Plumes”, perhaps?

    Thanks for another enjoyable post.

    • October 27, 2017 at 1:37 pm

      Ha! Well spotted. I fixed the typo, and the ostriches are no longer limping and casting aggrieved glances my way.

  2. November 16, 2017 at 6:18 am

    I don’t do a huge amount of RPing but I’ve always loved reading the material and I find that the barroom brawl is still an enduring trope in official, self-published and RPG groups’ games as a part of a wider whole. There’s something enduring about spilling someone’s pint or looking at someone funny then having to extricate your party from the ensuing wreckage.

  3. Wolf
    December 1, 2017 at 6:17 pm

    It is, I think, possibly the best WFRP adventure there is.

    Incidentally, WFRP got a second – not so official – bar room brawl in Jon Dever and Gary Chalk’s short lived Red Giant magazine. Neither was much to get excited about as I recall.

    I see C7 has announced you’ll be helping out with an updated TEW campaign. Good stuff. Here’s hoping the new version gives others as much fun as the original did in the 80s.

  4. July 5, 2020 at 6:01 pm

    I am not a graphics designer or artistic in any way (which should be painfully obvious) but here is my attempt. I don’t like to have a lot of english words on hanging signs in my WFRP — I feel i breaks immersion.

  5. July 5, 2020 at 9:24 pm

    Huh, link got deleted, I guess. Here it is:
    https://imgur.com/e7Gmmox

  6. July 6, 2020 at 8:18 pm

    I put it on a hanging sign template. Not great — it probably needs color.
    https://imgur.com/a/x9akFvQ

  1. January 3, 2024 at 4:16 am

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.