Home > writing > Two-Sentence Horror Stories

Two-Sentence Horror Stories


I just stumbled across a blog about two-sentence horror stories, and was very impressed by some of the entries I found there. It’s a great writing exercise, similar in a way to composing haiku poems. Here’s something that popped into my mind: what pops into yours?

It was dark when I woke, but I was filled with that wonderful sense of well-being that comes from deep, restful sleep and an all-too-rare eagerness to face the challenges of the day. As I rose, my forehead encountered a lid covered with padded satin.

  1. August 20, 2013 at 4:43 pm

    The teacher was apoplectic at the unintelligible graffiti that those damned immigrant kids had scrawled across /his/ blackboard. He started to erase the circular design, then had very little time to be surprised by the cry of “Free!” before he was dragged down to Hell.

  2. September 13, 2013 at 5:23 pm

    My daughter told me a one-sentence one few weeks back (paraphrased):

    A frightened little girl tells her dad “I can’t sleep because there’s someone under my bed,” so he gets down onto the floor and peers under it to find his daughter huddled there, frightened, hiding because “there’s someone on top of my bed.”

  3. September 13, 2013 at 5:24 pm

    Oh, ha! That link had the one right there! Here, better:

    I begin tucking him into bed and he tells me, “Daddy check for monsters under my bed.” I look underneath for his amusement and see him, another him, under the bed, staring back at me quivering and whispering, “Daddy there’s somebody on my bed.”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

