Home > Myth and Folklore, Nonfiction, writing > Thor the Thunderer

Thor the Thunderer


If you’re a wargamer or a military history geek, you will have heard of Osprey books. Chances are you’ll own a few.

So imagine how pleased I was when Osprey contacted me out of the blue to write for their new Osprey Adventures series. Apparently my work on GURPS Vikings and Medieval: Total War – Viking Invasion impressed someone there, because they asked me to write a book on the most popular of the Norse gods, Thor the Thunderer.

Osprey Adventures is a fairly new series, adding mythology to Osprey’s already impressive coverage of history. I was flattered that they asked me to write one of the first titles. I recently finished a second book in a different series, but I can’t talk about it yet. Watch this space….

  1. January 27, 2013 at 4:00 am

    Perhaps they mistook you for another Graeme Davis … 😀

    /@

    • January 27, 2013 at 9:54 am

      Not this time, although I’m sure it happens. The editor who contacted me was a GURPS fan which is why he had thought of me in the first place. But I wonder if the academic Graeme, with his background in medieval German literature, has got thoroughly sick of students asking him about WFRP?

      Pah – serves him right for bagging GraemeDavis.com before I could get to it! Perhaps the people who signed him up to write books deconstructing Harry Potter thought they were talking to me?

      • January 27, 2013 at 10:22 am

        🙂

        Maybe you should contact him about co-authoring, say, a Vikings in America RPG supplement — by Graemes Davis!

        /@

  1. August 19, 2013 at 8:59 am

Leave a Reply

