Home > games > The Enemy Within Arrives

The Enemy Within Arrives


This morning I received my author’s copy of Fantasy Flight’s The Enemy Within campaign for 3rd edition Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay. I have to say they’ve done their usual great production job.

I knew the book would be thick, but it surprised me just how thick it was. If you’d like a look at what’s in the box, I found this unboxing video.

It’s been 26 years since the first Enemy Within campaign was launched for 1st edition WFRP. It’s a bold move by Fantasy Flight to use the same name for these all-new adventures, but their reasoning is sound. The new campaign explores the same themes through new adventures, and I was very happy they asked me to contribute to it.

I know that for some people nothing will ever live up to the original: for them, Fantasy Flight’s re-use of the name is akin to blasphemy. All I can say in response is that I wrote the best adventures I possibly could in both campaigns, and I hope you like the result.

It’s also true that the WFRP community is going through its own edition wars right now, and some diehard 1st or 2nd edition fans might regard a 3rd edition campaign called The Enemy Within as adding insult to injury. Having read 3rd edition – indeed, all three editions – in depth, I must respectfully disagree. While the mass of components that accompany 3rd edition products may be unfamiliar and even intimidating to 1st or 2nd edition grognards, the rules themselves work pretty well. The components, for the most part, are there to help make things run more smoothly: in a lot of cases, they hold text that would otherwise have been in the rulebook, so players and GMs can have it close to hand during a game.

I made a conscious effort, when writing my two chapters, to write a good WFRP adventure rather than a WFRP 3rd edition adventure. Very little of my design depends heavily on mechanics, and I hope that GMs will be able to adapt the campaign for use with earlier rules editions if they wish. It is even possible to add adventures from the original campaign and produce a grand “Total Enemy Within” mash-up that would work fairly well.

Anyway, it’s here, and I hope people like it.

  1. Mark Warren
    January 2, 2013 at 7:18 pm

    Mr. Davis,

    I wrote the “Cheater’s Bones” mini-game for The Enemy Within. Being a fan of yours, it is my great pleasure to see my name beside yours in the credits of that offering. Thanks for all the Warhammer over the years.

    Mark Warren

  2. Rob
    January 3, 2013 at 5:24 pm

    One of the 3e fans of game who has picked up the campaign box and pleased with it.

    A number of us are finding a few “things to work out” in it and discussing them on ffg board, such as making more handouts and support materials which we are doing as fans etc. (I can almost see ‘fan expansions’ for this like the 1000 Thrones expansions – which I realize do involve actual writers of that campaign). The idea is to create support sort of like what 2e often had (though some 2e products’ in-game handouts took realism to extreme in illegibility) as well as 3e things such as location cards with game effects.

    Rob/Valvorik

  3. January 3, 2013 at 6:10 pm

    Well done. I hope it’s a great seller for you! (Even if it’s not 1E πŸ˜‰ )

    • January 4, 2013 at 10:23 am

      Thanks, Anthony – and thanks for your contributions to the first two editions (for you other folks, Anthony wrote Marienburg and Sigmar’s Heirs before moving on to greener pastures). Drop me a line some time – I’d live to catch up.

  4. February 13, 2013 at 12:44 am

    Just started playing – absolutely fun and marvellous! Thanks for all the fun!

  5. mdog42
    February 22, 2013 at 9:35 am

    Our group has just started running this and IT IS AWESOME. The background cards for each player, which tie them to the major npcs and to each other, made it easy for our group to get going and be “invested” in the storyline. The only problem was that 2 guys wanted “criminal” background πŸ˜‰

    As a veteran of d&d (advanced-4th editions) and previous warhammer editions including the original TEW, I can say that THE STORY in this module and game master options make for.a.fantastic rpg experience. We are early into exploring the docks but this just might end up being my favorite campaign…ever.

  6. August 8, 2013 at 11:14 am
  7. GRAAK
    March 6, 2014 at 1:32 pm

    Hi Graeme: TEW (3rd ed) is by far the best thing I’ve read for WFRP since years!!! Congratulation: it’s a masterpiece born from a true passions and talent! I hope you will write something else for WFRP in the future!
    THANK YOU!

    GRAAK

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

